xAI Colossus
Colossus data center: Memphis, Southaven, and the counts that do not match
Two sites and a power plant across a state line, seen from orbit.
xAI's Colossus began in a former factory in South Memphis in 2024. A second site in Whitehaven followed, with buildings and turbines across the state line in Southaven, Mississippi. This guide sets satellite pictures of both sites beside the GPU, turbine and power figures each source states, with a date on every one.
Watch Colossus 2 go up
Nine clear Sentinel-2 passes over the same 3.3 by 3.5 km frame, from December 2024 to October 2026. The frame straddles the Tennessee and Mississippi state line, which runs just north of Stateline Road here: the warehouse near the top is in Whitehaven, Memphis, and the newer buildings to the south are in Southaven.
6 OCT 2026What the passes show: the large warehouse near the top of the frame was already standing. By May 2025 a big pad beside it is graded; by the end of 2025 buildings and equipment stand on it; and by October 2026 long roofed buildings fill it, with more ground cleared to the west. About 2 km to the south, across the state line in Southaven, new ground is graded around an existing industrial site from May 2025, and by October 2026 it has grown into a large complex of structures. No source we have read says which of the Southaven sites that complex is.
Status checkChecked
How big is Colossus?
There is no agreed figure. xAI's own Colossus page still describes the first machine; the trackers measure different kinds of power; and the turbine counts describe different yards on different days. These are the latest figures, each with what it measures.
- xAI's Colossus page
- 200,000 GPUs: built in 122 days, then doubled in 92The page still describes the first machine and carries a February 2025 date.x.ai/colossus
- Wikipedia
- 440,000 GB300s in use at Colossus 2 by late September 2026With 660,000 more expected by the end of 2026. Article edited 31 Oct 2026.Wikipedia
- Cleanview
- Colossus 2: 1,836 MW operating, 2,844 MW at full build-outFacility power, first on its US operating list. Read 6 Nov 2026.Cleanview
- Epoch AI
- Colossus 2: 946 MW of IT powerIT power only, which Epoch puts 20% to 50% below facility power. Read 6 Nov 2026.Epoch AI
- NAACP, SELC and Earthjustice
- 27 gas turbines in Southaven, up to 495 MW, without permitsTheir allegation, in a notice of intent to sue of 13 Feb 2026.NAACP, 13 Feb 2026
- Aureum satellite passes
- Dark arrays at Colossus 1 (16 Sep); a growing Southaven complex (6 Oct)Sentinel-2B passes. Long roofed buildings now fill the pad beside the Colossus 2 warehouse. See Colossus 1 and the Colossus 2 sequence.
This panel is the only part of the page tied to a date. Everything below it is background, with the period stated on every figure.
Fact file
Colossus at a glance
The background figures, each with who stated it and when.
- Colossus 1
- 3231 Paul R. Lowry Road
- South Memphis, the address in the June 2025 notice of intent (SELC for the NAACP).
- The building
- A former Electrolux factory
- As Wikipedia describes it; the 2023 aerial photographs show the plant before xAI.
- Running since
- June 2024
- When xAI began operations in South Memphis, according to the NAACP.
- First machine
- 100,000 GPUs
- NVIDIA Hoppers, built with NVIDIA in 122 days (NVIDIA, October 2024).
- Doubled to
- 200,000 GPUs
- In 92 days, according to xAI's Colossus page.
- Turbines, Colossus 1
- 15 permitted, 12 sought
- Permits for 15 (NAACP, February 2026); a request to cut that to 12 (public notice, April 2026).
- Colossus 2
- Whitehaven, Memphis
- A warehouse site in south Memphis, with newer buildings across the state line in Southaven.
- Colossus 2 running since
- Late 2025
- According to the NAACP, February 2026.
- Southaven turbines
- 27, up to 495 MW
- The groups' allegation, February 2026.
- Permanent power plant
- About 1.2 GW, 41 turbines
- Permitted in March 2026, as Wikipedia reports.
- Company
- xAI, now part of SpaceX
- Scientific American reports the acquisition; xAI's Memphis page uses the name SpaceXSI.
- Renter
- Anthropic, at Colossus 1
- Agreed in May 2026 to rent essentially all of Colossus 1, as Wikipedia reports.
Sources: SELC notice of intent (17 June 2025), NAACP (17 June 2025 and 13 February 2026), NVIDIA (28 October 2024), xAI, Wikipedia (edited 31 October 2026) and Scientific American.
Where is the Colossus data center?
Colossus is not one building. Colossus 1 is in South Memphis, at 3231 Paul R. Lowry Road (SELC notice, June 2025), in what Wikipedia describes as a former Electrolux appliance factory (Wikipedia). Colossus 2 began at a warehouse site in Whitehaven, about 13 km to the south-east, and has spread across the state line into Southaven, Mississippi, where the groups suing xAI say its turbines stand.
- Colossus 1, South Memphis: the first site, running since June 2024, by the NAACP's account.
- Colossus 2, Whitehaven: a warehouse and parcels bought in early 2025, with its roof branded Macrohard, as Wikipedia describes them.
- Southaven, Mississippi: a turbine plant on the former Duke Energy site on Stanton Road (Wikipedia), and two further data center sites that xAI calls Gun Range and Spam: two single-storey buildings on 55.9 acres and a single-storey warehouse on 53 acres (Data Center Dynamics).
Colossus 1: the first site
xAI began operating in South Memphis in June 2024, according to the NAACP (NAACP, June 2025). In October 2024 NVIDIA said the facility and supercomputer, 100,000 Hopper GPUs, had been built in 122 days, with 19 days from the first rack to training, and that xAI was doubling it to 200,000 (NVIDIA). xAI's own Colossus page still tells that story: 122 days to build, 92 to double (xAI).
16 SEP 2026From orbit, the change at Colossus 1 is in the yards rather than the building, which was already standing. The ground west and south of it, bare in the 2023 aerial photograph and grassed over by June 2024, is bare again from the 26 September 2024 pass; small structures and equipment appear along the building's north and east sides in 2025; and between 28 February and 16 September 2026, rows of large dark arrays cover the ground west of the building. The pictures do not say what they are.

The site's turbines are the most disputed thing about it. The NAACP said in June 2025 that aerial images showed 35 turbines there in March of that year; in February 2026 it said xAI had removed its unpermitted turbines and obtained permits for the remaining 15 (NAACP, February 2026). A Shelby County Health Department notice of 7 April 2026, as reproduced online, records a request to cut the permitted turbines from 15 to 12. Wikipedia reports that Anthropic agreed in May 2026 to rent essentially all of Colossus 1.
Colossus 2 and the Southaven sites
The NAACP placed xAI's second South Memphis data center in Whitehaven in June 2025, and said in February 2026 that it had begun operating in late 2025. Wikipedia describes a warehouse and parcels bought in early 2025 and a first cluster of about 110,000 GB200-class chips, roughly 210 MW, online around January 2026.

Musk has said the two newer Southaven sites, Gun Range and Spam, would be operating by the end of 2026, with about 420,000 GB300 chips between them, as Data Center Dynamics reports. On 30 July 2026 xAI's Memphis page noted an agreed order with Mississippi's environmental regulator on a fixed timeline to remove the temporary turbines in Southaven (xAI).


The Colossus build, step by step
Company, campaign and regulator statements, and our own readings of the pictures of both sites, in date order. Use the filters to see one or the other.
Jun 2024
Colossus 1 running
xAI begins operating in South Memphis, according to the NAACP.
Statements13 Jun 2024
A factory in a field
Colossus 1: the former factory stands among grass and woodland; the ground west of it, bare in 2023, has grassed over.
Pictures26 Sep 2024
Bare ground again
Colossus 1: the ground west and south of the building is bare again.
Pictures28 Oct 2024
100,000 GPUs in 122 days
NVIDIA says the facility and supercomputer were built in 122 days, and that xAI is doubling it to 200,000 GPUs.
Statements30 Dec 2024
A warehouse in Whitehaven
Colossus 2: the large warehouse stands beside partly cleared ground; woodland covers most of the land to the south.
PicturesFeb 2025
Whitehaven bought
xAI buys the warehouse and parcels for roughly $80 million, as Wikipedia reports. Data Center Dynamics dates the purchase to March.
StatementsMar 2025
35 turbines at Colossus 1
Aerial images obtained by SELC show 35 turbines at the site, the NAACP says.
Statements21 May 2025
Two sites graded
Colossus 2: a large pad beside the warehouse is graded, and new ground is cleared around an existing industrial site about 2 km south, in Southaven.
Pictures17 Jun 2025
Notice of intent to sue
SELC, for the NAACP, alleges xAI has run at least 35 combustion turbines at Colossus 1 without air permits.
Statements2 Jul 2025
15 turbines permitted
The Shelby County Health Department permits 15 turbines at Colossus 1, as Wikipedia reports.
StatementsLate 2025
Colossus 2 running
The NAACP says Colossus 2 began operating in late 2025. Wikipedia dates a first cluster of about 110,000 GB200-class chips, about 210 MW, to around January 2026.
Statements30 Dec 2025
Buildings on the pad
Colossus 2: buildings and equipment stand on the pad beside the warehouse, and the Southaven site has spread over a larger graded area.
Pictures13 Feb 2026
27 turbines in Southaven
The NAACP, SELC and Earthjustice give notice over 27 gas turbines in Southaven, up to 495 MW, which they say run without permits.
StatementsMar 2026
A permanent plant permitted
A permanent plant of about 1.2 GW and 41 turbines receives its air permit, as Wikipedia reports.
Statements7 Apr 2026
From 15 turbines to 12
A Shelby County Health Department notice records a request to cut Colossus 1's permitted turbines from 15 to 12.
StatementsMay 2026
Anthropic rents Colossus 1
Anthropic agrees to rent essentially all of Colossus 1, as Wikipedia reports.
Statements30 Jul 2026
A removal order in Mississippi
xAI's Memphis page notes an agreed order with Mississippi's environmental regulator on a timeline to remove the temporary Southaven turbines.
Statements16 Sep 2026
Dark arrays at Colossus 1
Rows of large dark arrays cover the ground west of the building. The pictures do not say what they are.
PicturesLate Sep 2026
440,000 GB300s
Wikipedia reports 440,000 GB300 chips in use at Colossus 2, with 660,000 more expected by the end of 2026.
Statements6 Oct 2026
Roofed buildings, a growing complex
Colossus 2: long roofed buildings fill the pad beside the warehouse, more ground is cleared to the west, and the Southaven complex has spread west.
Pictures
How many turbines does Colossus have?
The pages count different things: turbines installed, permitted, temporary or permanent, or the megawatts they could produce. These are the counts, each with what it describes.
| Count | What it describes | Who, when | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Colossus 1, 2025 | At least 35 | Turbines run without permits, alleged | SELC notice, 17 Jun 2025 |
| Colossus 1, permitted | 15 | Turbines with permits in Shelby County | NAACP, Feb 2026 |
| Colossus 1, sought | 12 | A requested cut from 15 to 12 | Public notice, 7 Apr 2026 |
| Southaven, early 2026 | 27, up to 495 MW | Turbines installed without permits, alleged | NAACP, SELC and Earthjustice, 13 Feb 2026 |
| Southaven, by July | 69 | Temporary turbines counted by Mississippi regulators | Scientific American, year not stated |
| Southaven, range | 50 to 70 | Temporary turbines, as reported | Wikipedia, 31 Oct 2026 |
| Permanent plant | 41, about 1.2 GW | Permitted in March 2026 | Wikipedia, 31 Oct 2026 |
These can all be true at once, of different yards on different days; written as one number, they contradict each other. Wikipedia reports that the temporary units are due to be removed by mid-2027 (SELC; Scientific American; Wikipedia).
The power figures, named
| Figure | What it measures | Who, when | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cleanview, operating | 1,836 MW | Facility power of Colossus 2 buildings running today | Read 6 Nov 2026 |
| Cleanview, full build-out | 2,844 MW | Everything planned at Colossus 2 | Read 6 Nov 2026 |
| Epoch AI | 946 MW | IT power at Colossus 2 | Read 6 Nov 2026 |
| Wikipedia, first cluster | About 210 MW | Colossus 2's first cluster, around January 2026 | Edited 31 Oct 2026 |
| Wikipedia, combined | On the order of 1 GW | All sites, as of mid-2026 | Edited 31 Oct 2026 |
| Data Center Dynamics | 350 MW | Cooling seen in January satellite imagery, as reported | Article date not stated |
| SELC | 495 MW | Potential output of 27 Southaven turbines | 14 Apr 2026 |
No average of these means anything: facility power, IT power, cooling capacity and turbine output are different quantities. A 10-metre picture cannot measure any of them. It can show where buildings, pads and equipment yards are, and when they appeared.
Colossus data center: questions and answers
Follow xAI Colossus on Track
A hand-built board on the biggest AI campuses, with a satellite-backed reading after each clear pass and the history in one place. Free while Aureum is in beta.